Daleville High School honor society inducts 19

Daleville High School honor society inducts 19
With a pledge to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society, 19 Daleville High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society.

DHS National Honor Society club sponsor Roni Gilley presented the 19 inductees with a National Honor Society membership card during a ceremony held Friday, Jan. 18, at the Daleville High School library.

The National Honor Society is a nationwide organization recognizing outstanding students for their excellence in four fundamental characteristics: scholarship, leadership, service and character.

Each student pledged before fellow students, parents and friends “to maintain their high scholastic standing, to hold as fundamental and worthy an untarnished character, to endeavor intelligently and courageously to be a leader and to give of myself freely in service to others.”

“In doing so I shall prove myself worthy of a place in the National Honor Society,” the students pledged.

Presiding at the ceremony were Daleville High School’s National Honor Society Officers President Paige Henderson, Vice-President Lauren Dorminey, Secretary/ Treasurer Paybein Green, Reporter Danielle Jackson and Parliamentarian Christopher Roblez.

During the induction ceremony, each chapter officer described one of the four characteristics of being a member in the National Honor Society. Scholarship was described as a commitment to learning. Leadership was called the initiative to the lead others to attain their best when others hesitate. Service was described as volunteering to help others in need. Character is a force within each individual that distinguishes a person from others.

Students inducted into the DHS National Honor Society were William Bass, Kirsten Boise, Jazmin Bonam, Alexis Brown, Elizabeth Bunch, Donald Christian, Janee Clements, Jose Deras, Mackinley Green, Kylie Jones, Immanuella Montalvo, Amy Montgomery, April Pennington, Aneena Reynolds, Kaemon Skinner, Alyssa Straw, Shantice Wheeler Purvis, Jalen White and Skylan Williams.

740 S. Daleville Ave * Daleville, Alabama 36322 * 334.598.2345

Developed by Harlow Media